Oulu Comics Association

Oulu Comics Association was established in 1980 and it’s function is to keep Oulu’s comics culture lively. Oulu Comics Association is an association for readers, artists and researchers and it wants to promote comics knowledge, critical reading and to strengthen the status of Northern Finland’s comics.


Oulu Comics Association is funded by The City of Oulu ja The Arts Promotion Centre Finland (Taike).

The basic activities of the Oulu Comic Book Association are financed by the City of Oulu and the Art Promotion Center.

All who are interested in comics are welcome to the comics activities!


Oulu Comics Center in facebook
Oulu Comics Festival in facebook 


Oulu Comics Center in Instagram

Join the Association

Oulu Comics Association’s membership fee for the year 2022 is 10 euros. The fee for supporting members is 100 euros. You can join by paying the membership fee at the Oulu Comics Center (cash only) or by paying the fee to the association’s account:

  • Oulun sarjakuvaseura ry
  • FI67 5744 7720 0583 17
  • Message: Name of the joining member.

When paying to the account, please send an email to sarjakuvaoulu(at)gmail.com, containing your name, email, phone number and street addresss we know you joined. The membership card will be posted in three weeks time from the payment. When paying at the Center, you get the membership card right away. Please keep your contact information updated. sarjakuvaoulu(at)gmail.com

Oulu Comics Association

  • The board for 2021:
  • Mikko Rautiainen (chairman)
  • Tessa Astre
  • Anneli Moilanen
  • Soile Hirvasniemi

Chairmen through times

  • 1980-2006 Pentti Nuortimo (officially)
  • 1984-2006 Ilpo Koskela (in practice)
  • 2007 Mari Ahokoivu
  • 2008-2014 Harri Filppa
  • 2014 Anssi Vieruaho
  • 2015-2016 Paavo Heinonen
  • 2017-2018 Jyrki Korpua
  • 2019- Mikko Rautiainen

Editors in chief

  • Kupla1980-1984
  • n:o 1-4: Ilpo Koskela
  • n:o 5-10b: Arto Hukkanen
  • n:o 11-12: Arto Hukkanen and Ilpo Koskela
  • Ruuvari1988-1995
  • n:o 1-3: Olli Kangas
  • n:o 4-6 ja 8: Erkki Hiltunen
  • n:o 7 ja 9-11: Osmo Luostarinen
  • n:o 12: Aslak Aikio
  • Ruutukaava2011-2016
  • n:o 1-27: Harri Filppa